We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.



by Saint Augustine

Analysis: Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type : Rebirth

Living Under the Shadow of a Dark Power

That dark power is most obviously sin, but for Augustine, that basically means anything that isn't God: lust, Manichees, pride because he wins speech competitions, the theater, etc.

Every Little Thing, Is Gonna Be Alright

Augustine is seemingly happy. He's on his hunt for truth, he thinks he's hanging with the right crowd. No problems here.

Um, Actually, No, It's Not

Augustine starts to realize that he really isn't happy, and that what he once thought were the answers are not really answers at all. Christianity, which seemed useless and nonsensical before, is suddenly looking shiny and full of truth.

Will the Dark Power Win?

Even though Augustine wants to love God, he can't imagine actually giving up all of the things he would need to give up (read: sex) to live the life of a true Christian.

Miraculous Redemption Is Miraculous

And we do mean miraculous. Right when Augustine is on the brink of conversion, he hears a child's voice telling him to pick up a book and read. What Augustine reads then convinces him that he needs to live a Christian life. The rest is history.

People who Shmooped this also Shmooped...