From 11:00PM PDT on Friday, July 1 until 5:00AM PDT on Saturday, July 2, the Shmoop engineering elves will be making tweaks and improvements to the site. That means Shmoop will be unavailable for use during that time. Thanks for your patience!
We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
The Book Thief

The Book Thief

  

by Markus Zusak

Related History & Literature on Shmoop

Available to teachers only as part of the The Book Thief Teacher Pass


The Book ThiefTeacher Pass includes:

  • Assignments & Activities
  • Reading Quizzes
  • Current Events & Pop Culture articles
  • Discussion & Essay Questions
  • Challenges & Opportunities
  • Related Readings in Literature & History

Sample of Related History & Literature on Shmoop


  1. Number the Stars
    Lois Lowry's Number the Stars gives us a glimpse into another dystopia, only this time it's the real thing. Long before Marcus Zusak thought of using his mother's stories of the Holocaust to imagine a story of love and loyalty in a time of risk, Lowry brought us a young girl who must decide whether or not to put herself in danger for the love of her friend.

  2. A Maus Tale
    Explore our pages devoted to Art Spiegelman's now classic comic book journey through his father's Holocaust memories. In the tradition of Aesop and George Orwell, animals represent human characters and shed light on how diverse groups perceive themselves or are perceived by others.