We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Cat on a Hot Tin Roof

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof


by Tennessee Williams

Maggie (the Cat) Timeline and Summary

  • After the no-neck monsters ruin her dress, Maggie comes back to the bedroom to change.
  • Maggie and Brick talk about their sex life.
  • Maggie gets dressed.
  • Maggie spars with Big Mama about her sex life with Brick.
  • Maggie asks Mae why her children have dogs' names.
  • Maggie forces Brick to discuss Skipper and to listen to her finish her story of the night she spent with Skipper.
  • Brick tries to hit Maggie several times.
  • Maggie tells Brick she is able to have babies.
  • Maggie asks Brick to give Big Daddy his present.
  • Maggie pretends to be excited when Big Daddy opens his present to find a cashmere sweater.
  • Maggie delivers Brick to Big Daddy for their father-son conversation.
  • Maggie helps deliver the news to Big Mama that Big Daddy is dying.
  • Maggie condemns the avarice and greed she sees around her.
  • Maggie informs everyone she is pregnant.
  • Maggie turns out the lights and removes the alcohol from the bedroom.
  • Maggie tells Brick she loves him.