The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button as Booker’s Seven Basic Plots Analysis Plot

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type :

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" does not fit any of the Booker plots. Booker’s plot breakdowns are based on a stage of anticipation or excitement followed by a sort of nightmare or terror stage. But Benjamin, in his calm acceptance and easy-going nature, maintains a sort of emotional neutrality throughout this story. One might identify his meeting with Hildegarde as a stage of anticipation, and the loss of his love as a nightmare stage. This is reasonable, but "Benjamin Button" doesn’t hinge on Benjamin’s marriage to Hildegarde. It is the story of his entire life, of many ups-and-downs, not of discrete stages we can break up and categorize.

Next Page: Three Act Plot Analysis
Previous Page: Plot Analysis

Need help with College?