We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Freak the Mighty

Freak the Mighty


by Rodman Philbrick

Max Kane Timeline and Summary

  • Max goes to daycare and acquires the wonderful habit of kicking other children and anyone else who happens to be nearby. He also meets Freak.
  • Max grows up and stops kicking, but starts sulking.
  • He reunites with Freak, and they form a powerful crime-fighting duo. Well, not exactly, but they do form Freak the Mighty.
  • They play together all summer, occasionally going on (fake) dangerous quests.
  • One quest turns out to be actually dangerous, and they meet Iggy, criminal leader of a motorcycle gang. They escape and decide to avoid questing for a while.
  • On Christmas Eve, Max's criminal father kidnaps Max from his bedroom. Freak rescues Max, with the help of the police, and life returns to normal.
  • Then Freak dies, and Max flips out, punching his fist through a glass door.
  • Max mourns for a long time, but finally begins to come to grips with Freak's death and writes their story.