We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre


by Charlotte Brontë

St. John Rivers Timeline and Summary

  • St. John is living at Moor House with his sisters Diana and Mary; he works as the clergyman in the nearby town of Morton while preparing to go to India on a missionary trip.
  • St. John comes home one night to find a poor young woman begging on the doorstep of Moor House; he invites her in and lets his sisters give her something to eat and a bed for the night.
  • St. John gets to know this young woman – Jane Eyre. He arranges for her to teach a village girls’ school in Morton and to have a cottage.
  • St. John stifles his passion for local beauty Rosamond Oliver and asks Jane to marry him instead because she would be a better missionary’s wife. Jane refuses.
  • St. John pressures Jane to marry him for several weeks, but Jane continues refusing. Just as she’s about to give in, something changes her attitude and she resists.
  • St. John leaves Moor House and goes to Cambridge for two weeks to say goodbye to friends before leaving for India.
  • St. John returns to Moor House only to find that Jane is gone. He receives a letter from her saying that she has married Mr. Rochester.
  • St. John goes to India and undertakes his missionary work. After a long period of labor, he becomes sick in the extreme climate of India and expects to die soon.