The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
by Amy Tan

The Joy Luck Club as Booker’s Seven Basic Plots Analysis: None Plot

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type :

The book doesn’t follow a single Booker’s Seven plot type, largely because the book is designed as a collection of short stories. It opens by raising the question of how well a daughter knows her mother, laying the groundwork for four mother-daughter stories. Through sixteen interconnected short stories, the book explores what mothers and daughters have to say to one another, and the roles that mothers and daughters play for each other.

Next Page: Three Act Plot Analysis
Previous Page: Plot Analysis

Need help with College?