We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lady Chatterley's Lover

Lady Chatterley's Lover


by D.H. Lawrence

Constance Chatterley (Connie) Timeline and Summary

  • Connie grows up in an unconventional family and studies in Germany for a while, where she loses her virginity to a nice German boy who likes to talk philosophy.
  • During World War I, she marries Clifford when he's home on leave. Then he's injured and comes home paralyzed from the waist down. Happy honeymoon for all.
  • The Chatterleys head up to Wragby, Clifford's estate. It's awful there—half post-recession Detroit without the cool art deco architecture, and half some McMansion exurb. 
  • Connie gets more and more depressed, until she has an affair with Michaelis—and then they break it off and she gets really depressed.
  • In the woods one day, she meets Mellors, the estate's gamekeeper. One thing leads to another, and pretty soon they're having sex and dancing naked in the rain. 
  • Meanwhile, things are getting frosty at home. Connie is fed up with Clifford's aristocratic snobbishness, and she decides to divorce him so she can run off with Mellors.
  • But first she goes to Venice.
  • While she's there, Clifford writes her boring letters. She learns that Mellors has left Wragby, and she heads home to confront Clifford. 
  • Clifford surprises even himself with his level of jerkitude, refusing to grant her a divorce. 
  • She travels to stay with her sister Hilda in Scotland, waiting things out.