We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Lady Chatterley's Lover

Lady Chatterley's Lover


by D.H. Lawrence

Oliver Mellors Timeline and Summary

  • Mellors shows up out of nowhere in the woods and meets Connie.
  • He and Connie don't get along at first, and he seems really irritated that she's intruding on his private moments with his chickens. Seriously.
  • When he sees Connie crying about those chickens, he's so moved that he has sex with her immediately.
  • Mellors is so good at sex that he makes Connie fall in love with him against her will—but it backfires when she starts talking about packing up the U-Haul and moving in with him.
  • While Connie is spending the night, Mellors spews some vitriol about women and modernity.
  • Connie heads off to Venice, and Mellors's estranged wife Bertha shows up to smear his name all over town.
  • Clifford fires Mellors, and he heads off to learn to milk cows and tend goats. He writes awesome letters to Connie, and they wait for his divorce to go through.