The Metamorphoses
The Metamorphoses
by Ovid

The Metamorphoses as Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis Plot

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type :

We can't tell you how Ovid's Metamorphoses fits into Booker's Seven Basic Plots, because Ovid's poem doesn't have a plot. Or maybe it's Booker's fault for not listing "The Encyclopedia" as one of his plot types. In any case, for an introduction to how Ovid's compendium of over 200 stories is organized into some sort of chronological order, check out our "Summary."

Next Page: Three Act Plot Analysis
Previous Page: Plot Analysis

Need help with College?