We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.

Troy Aikman in NFL History

Troy Aikman (1966- ) led the Dallas Cowboys to three Super Bowl titles in the 1990s. After an impressive collegiate career at UCLA, Aikman became the first pick in the 1989 NFL draft. As a rookie, he started at quarterback for a woeful Dallas team that finished with an NFL-worst record of 1-15. Nevertheless, Aikman quickly improved, and the Cowboys improved with him; Aikman's fourth season ended with Dallas' first Super Bowl since the 1970s, and the Cowboys went on to win three out of four NFL championships in the mid-1990s. Aikman won election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2006.

During Dallas's heyday in the mid-1990s, Troy Aikman commanded a fearsome Cowboys offense that also featured punishing running back Emmitt Smith (who would go on to become the NFL's all-time leading rusher) and explosive wide receiver Michael Irvin. Since being forced out of the NFL after suffering a series of concussions in 1999 and 2000, Aikman has built a successful broadcasting career as a football commentator for Fox Sports. In 2004, Aikman won an Emmy Award for his work in the broadcast booth.

People who Shmooped this also Shmooped...