We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.

Mark Twain in The Spanish-American War

Mark Twain (1835-1910) was the pen name for Samuel Langhorne Clemens, an American writer, humorist, and political critic who is best known today for his novels Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. Many consider him to be the greatest writer in American history.

In 1898, several political figures, scholars, and businessmen formed the American Anti-Imperialist League in order to oppose the annexation of the Philippine Islands. Mark Twain was one of its most vocal members.

People who Shmooped this also Shmooped...