© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.



by J.D. Salinger

Analysis: Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type : None

Teddy doesn't accurately fit any of the Booker plots. The meat of the story is the philosophical debate between Teddy and Nicholson – not any action that we could break down into different stages. Very few things actually happen in this story: Teddy talks with his family, then talks with Nicholson, and then dies (in most interpretations) at the end. The story is about ideas, not plot; character and not events. One can even argue that the protagonist remains essentially unchanged throughout the entire tale. He certainly teaches, but he neither learns nor overcomes difficulties himself.

People who Shmooped this also Shmooped...