© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
The Woman Warrior

The Woman Warrior


by Maxine Hong Kingston

Analysis: Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

Christopher Booker is a scholar who wrote that every story falls into one of seven basic plot structures: Overcoming the Monster, Rags to Riches, the Quest, Voyage and Return, Comedy, Tragedy, and Rebirth. Shmoop explores which of these structures fits this story like Cinderella’s slipper.

Plot Type : None

As a memoir, The Woman Warrior doesn't fit any of Booker's plot types. Kingston does combine bits of each of Booker's narrative structures; "White Tigers" certainly involves a quest, Kingston talks about her travels away and back to home like a voyage and return plot, and there's definitely comedy and tragedy. All in all, though, Kingston's stories break the mold by offering multiple story lines and voices that show how identity always involves more than just one "I."

People who Shmooped this also Shmooped...