Study Guide

Mother Courage and Her Children Three-Act Plot Analysis

By Bertolt Brecht

Three-Act Plot Analysis

Act I

Scene I: Mother Courage introduces her children to the soldier and recruiter. Eilif is recruited by the Swedish army. Courage continues to follow the Swedes through Europe.

Act II

Scene III: Swiss Cheese is executed by the invading Catholics. Mother Courage delays too long when trying to sell her wagon to pay for his release.


Scenes IX-XII: Mother Courage turns down the cook's offer to leave Kattrin behind and run an inn with him. Kattrin is killed while drumming to alert a local town about the approaching Catholics. Mother Courage holds her daughter as she dies, then she gets back on the road.