Study Guide

The Awakening Three Act Plot Analysis

By Kate Chopin

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

During summer vacation on Grand Isle, Edna is an obedient wife, but spending time with Robert Lebrun and Adele Ratignolle is bringing out her less-than-obedient Inner Edna.

Act II

Back in New Orleans, Edna asserts her independence by painting, moving into her own house, and starting an affair.


Robert comes home and winds up breaking things off with Edna. She returns to Grand Isle and drowns at sea.