Study Guide

Constitution - Article 1, Section 1

Advertisement - Guide continues below

Article 1, Section 1

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Congress, and only Congress, has the power to make laws. And the Congress is a bicameral legislative body—that is, it's divided into two chambers, the House and the Senate. ("Bicameral" is just a fancy Latin word that means "two chambers.")

This is a premium product

Tired of ads?

Join today and never see them again.

Please Wait...