Study Guide

Annie John Three-Act Plot Analysis

Advertisement - Guide continues below

Three-Act Plot Analysis

Act I

Annie idolizes her mother and safely resides within the cocoon of her family and home. She develops an obsession with death and is shocked to find out that children die.

Act II

Annie starts to menstruate, grow taller, and experiences rejection from her mother. She responds in kind by acting out, rejecting her mother and falling in (friend?) love with Gwen and the Red Girl.


Annie gets sick and Ma Chess heals her with obeah. Now disillusioned with all things Antigua, Annie leaves for England to study nursing.

This is a premium product

Tired of ads?

Join today and never see them again.

Please Wait...