Study Guide

Atlas Shrugged Three Act Plot Analysis

By Ayn Rand

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

Volume 1: from the introduction of our major players (Dagny and Hank) to the dramatic exit of Ellis Wyatt.

Act II

Volume 2 Colorado fails, things get worse, and Dagny's fate is uncertain after a dramatic plane crash.


Volume 3: we learn of the strike and meet John Galt. Romantic relationships are all readjusted and finalized and our heroes manage to escape as the country collapses.