Study Guide

Disgrace Three Act Plot Analysis

By J.M. Coetzee

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

David loses his job at the University and leaves Cape Town to live with Lucy out in the country.

Act II

David and Lucy are attacked by the three men, Lucy is raped, and the dogs are shot to death. Nobody is there to help.


David comes back to the Eastern Cape. Lucy decides to have her baby and to marry Petrus. David decides to put the dog to sleep.