Study Guide

Frankenstein Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

By Mary Shelley

Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

Anticipation Stage

Victor becomes aware of the vast power and destructiveness of nature. He seeks an education at the University of Ingolstadt. Unfortunately, his professors don't exactly appreciate his interest in alchemy. Eventually, he finds a new interest: attempting to uncover the secret of life, or rather the secret of making corpse pieces move. We think this has something to do with the fact that his mother died quite recently.

Dream Stage

All of Victor's dreams have come true when his scientific endeavors prove fruitful. This lasts about five seconds, until he realizes that his creation is hideous and probably evil. Shortest dream stage ever.

Frustration Stage

The monster isn't what Victor meant to create, but once he has brought the creature to life, he can't undo it. Not to mention, the monster kills William and brings about Justine's death, so, yeah, we're feeling rather frustrated. Victor finally gives in to the monster's wish of having a companion, hoping that this will get the monster out of his hair already.

Nightmare Stage

But then Victor has second thoughts and destroys the she-monster. The monster, who is totally spying on him, sees this and heads out to make Victor as lonely as he is, by killing everyone Victor has ever loved. Which he does.

Destruction or Death Wish Stage

Victor chases the monster until he dies onboard Walton's ship—at which point, the monster suddenly realizes that Victor was his only reason to live and comes up with a death wish of his own. Super cheerful!