Study Guide

The Glass Menagerie Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

By Tennessee Williams

Advertisement - Guide continues below

Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis

Anticipation Stage

Amanda commits to finding a gentleman caller for Laura.

Amanda feels that her family is unfulfilled, so she focuses her energies on finding a husband for Laura. She anticipates Laura getting married sometime in the near future.

Dream Stage

Tom gets a gentleman caller for Laura.

Tom and Amanda commit to the course of action, roping in this Jim character to act as the gentleman caller. The dream, much like the anticipation, is that Laura will get married.

Frustration Stage

Laura is being difficult because the gentleman caller is a figure from her past.

Amanda is extremely frustrated with Laura’s fragility, shyness, and general refusal to interact with Jim. Amanda becomes more forceful, yelling at her daughter and demanding that she open the door for the guest.

Nightmare Stage

Jim turns out to be engaged.

Amanda is left with no control over the situation here. The dream spirals into nightmare as we realize that Laura can’t possibly marry this guy.

Destruction or Death Wish Stage

Tom ends his role in the family.

Tom doesn’t really die, but you could say that he fulfills a metaphorical death wish with respect to his role as family provider.

The Glass Menagerie Booker's Seven Basic Plots Analysis Study Group

Ask questions, get answers, and discuss with others.

Tired of ads?

Join today and never see them again.

This is a premium product

Please Wait...