Study Guide

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich Three Act Plot Analysis

By Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

Morning in the camp – from when Shukhov wakes up till the gangs arrive at the worksite.

Act II

The workday – the entire period at the worksite until the gangs march back to camp.


Nighttime in the camp – from the arrival back at camp that night until the end of the book.