Study Guide

Oliver Twist Three Act Plot Analysis

By Charles Dickens

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

From the beginning until the moment that Oliver is first arrested as a thief.

Act II

Includes Oliver’s friendship with Mr. Brownlow and his kidnapping by Nancy and Sikes, lasting until the attempted robbery of the Maylies house that gets him shot.


Oliver is cured and reunited with Mr. Brownlow; Nancy’s information allows them to stop Monks’s plot against Oliver and restore Oliver’s inheritance. All the good guys live happily ever after, except for Nancy, who gets murdered.