Study Guide

The Olympians in The Lightning Thief

Advertisement - Guide continues below

The Olympians

The Olympians are all of the major Greek gods and goddesses who rule on Mount Olympus. Zeus is the supreme ruler of them all. Zeus's siblings are Hades, Poseidon, Hera, Hestia, and Demeter. His dad, Kronos, ate these siblings when they were young, but Zeus's mom rescued Zeus from such an end. When Zeus grew up, he made his dad do the technicolor rainbow and spit up his brothers and sisters. Then, they defeated the Titans (Kronos's people) and created a new era. Zeus and his brothers, Poseidon and Hades, divided the kingdom into three territories: the sky, the sea, and the underworld (which is why they're called The Big Three). Zeus also became Big Cheese of Mount Olympus.

The gods each have a throne in the throne-room on Mount Olympus, and their thrones make the shape of a "U." The cabins at Camp Half-Blood each honor a particular Olympian god and house that god's offspring. These cabins are also shaped in a "U" (just like the thrones):

Cabin #1: Zeus
Cabin #2: Hera
Cabin #3: Poseidon
Cabin #4: Demeter
Cabin #5: Ares
Cabin #6: Athena
Cabin #7: Apollo
Cabin #8: Artemis
Cabin #9: Hephaestus
Cabin #10: Aphrodite
Cabin #11: Hermes
Cabin #12: Dionysus

Do you think there is a reason why these cabins are ordered and numbered in the way that they are? Why are these twelve gods considered the Olympians? Aren't there other gods out there?

For more detailed information about the gods and goddess and Ancient Greek culture, check out Theoi Greek Mythology.

This is a premium product

Tired of ads?

Join today and never see them again.

Please Wait...