Study Guide

Wuthering Heights Three Act Plot Analysis

By Emily Brontë

Three Act Plot Analysis

Act I

Lockwood arrives and Nelly Dean begins to tell the story of the Earnshaws and the Lintons. Flashback time: Mr. Earnshaw brings Heathcliff into the family. Everyone treats him terribly, but then Heathcliff and Catherine fall in love. She chooses social status over romance, marrying Edgar Linton and moving into Thrushcross Grange.

Act II

Heathcliff is tormented by the loss of Catherine. He disappears for a while only to return and begin avenging himself on Hindley and, by extension, everyone else. Catherine dies in childbirth.


Now that Catherine is dead, revenge is a full-time job for Heathcliff. His brutality and scheming kills off just about everyone, including himself. Cathy and Hareton are the only ones who remain. Their love suggests a new era of hope.

This is a premium product

Tired of ads?

Join today and never see them again.

Please Wait...