© 2015 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.

Branches of Government

If our government were a tree, it would be a sad one—only three branches. The three branches of the government look like this: judicial, legislative, and executive. The executive branch includes the president and his administration; the judicial includes the Supreme Court and the federal court system; the legislative branch makes laws and includes the House of Representatives and the Senate.

back to top