We have changed our privacy policy. In addition, we use cookies on our website for various purposes. By continuing on our website, you consent to our use of cookies. You can learn about our practices by reading our privacy policy.
© 2016 Shmoop University, Inc. All rights reserved.
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass


by Lewis Carroll

Alice Timeline and Summary


  • Alice goes down the rabbit hole.
  • Alice fails to get into the special garden.
  • Alice drinks a mystery drink and shrinks.
  • Alice eats a cake and grows large.
  • Alice cries and makes a pool of tears in the room.
  • Alice fans herself with the White Rabbit's fan and shrinks again.
  • Alice falls into a pool and gets wet.
  • Alice joins a Caucus-race to get dry.
  • Alice goes on an errand to the White Rabbit's house, drinks another mystery drink, and gets stuck in a room of the house.
  • Alice eats pebbles that turn into cakes and shrinks again.
  • Alice meets a Caterpillar that teaches her to eat a mushroom to control her size.
  • Alice attends a Mad Tea Party.
  • Alice visits the Duchess and rescues a baby.
  • Alice meets the Cheshire-Cat in the forest.
  • Alice returns to the hall and finally gets into the beautiful garden.
  • Alice joins a game of croquet with the Queen of Hearts.
  • Alice is introduced to the Mock Turtle and the Gryphon.
  • Alice attends a trial for the Knave of Hearts.
  • Alice grows large again and brushes away the deck of cards.
  • Alice wakes up at her sister's side and relates her adventures.


  • Alice goes through the looking-glass.
  • Alice reads the backwards nonsense poem "Jabberwocky."
  • Alice explores a garden of live flowers.
  • Alice joins the giant chess game as a White Pawn.
  • Alice takes a train trip.
  • Alice meets some strange insects.
  • Alice meets Tweedledum and Tweedledee.
  • Alice encounters the White Queen.
  • Alice visits a shop that is also a boat on a river and buys an egg.
  • Alice meets Humpty Dumpty.
  • Alice meets the Lion and the Unicorn.
  • Alice is captured by a Red Knight and rescued by a White Knight.
  • Alice enters the Eighth Square and becomes a Queen.
  • Alice attends a strange banquet.
  • Alice shakes the Red Queen into a kitten.
  • Alice wakes up at home and wonders whose dream she was in.